FHM: Points activity

I was having a ponder at FHM earlier and was intrigued by their user profiling that they now have.
I’m not a regular user or visitor to the site so I’m not sure if its a new feature to the site or something that’s been around for a while but in order to take part in competitions and promotions on site you have to accrue points to be able to enter them.

The premise of this works: Why shouldnt FHM reward those users that they feel are most loyal or heavier users of the site. It links back to the idea of data versus experience that I explored in an earlier post. To enter the grand prix competition you need to have had 45 interactions with the site. Iromically they note in their instructions (as to how you gain points) that you could frantically click the mouse for each point.

Does this mean that they are rewarding users who are consuming the site or rewarding the users who can be bothered to click. It makes sense that the theory of rewarding loyal users should be the case. Particularly because each point is earned on each click. If a user is reading 2 or 3 pages on the site (or looking at 10 – 15 female pictures) they will easily accrue the points.

Will be interesting to see if they take this profiling or reward mechanic further over the coming months.

Posted on April 12, 2009, in CRM, Marketing Stuff, Think Digital and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I find this intriguing because when I enter an FHM competition I find my points actually increase instead of decrease – eg: I started with 95 points I entered a comp that should have cost 50 points and another which should have cost 20 points but I left the site with 120 points??? – I really don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

