Interpersonal Thinking

So… Back to my personality quizzing to aid me in my scholarly studies as well as be a bit reflective and self indulgent…

Today I wanted to check out the likes of Einstein V’s Freud V’s Leonardo di Vinci to discover what type of thinker I am. The BBC was there to help me out (I’m starting to like their quizzes!) Where I found their “Thinker Quiz”. The quiz consisted of just over 30 questions querying what humanity areas I’m interested in, what I enjoy and the sorts of things I pay consideration to in my reflection time. The conclusion?

You are an Interpersonal Thinker
    Interpersonal thinkers:

  • Like to think about other people, and try to understand them
  • Recognise differences between individuals and appreciate that different people have different perspectives
  • Make an effort to cultivate effective relationships with family, friends and colleagues
Like interpersonal thinkers, Leonardo had lots of friends and contacts, and was a popular figure at the Italian court.   Other Interpersonal thinkers include
Winston Churchill, Mother Teresa, William Shakespeare

Careers which suit Interpersonal thinkers include
Politician, Psychologist, Nurse, Counsellor, Teacher

Ths seems to fit. I’m a people person and the thing I like most about my job is trying to form different relationships with people and trying to work out inter-relations between others. Likewise as a marketeer (and arguably sales person) a key attribute to almost everything I do involves being able to influence people: I try to do this with empathy (rather than behaving like a bull in a china shop) and whilst some may disagree dont think I do too bad a job of it.

Interestingly the “teacher” career type comes up again here, as it did in my very first post on the Myers Briggs type indicator. This got me thinking about aspects of my job I’ve enjoyed and a lot of it is to do with teaching (explaining through presentations strategy or tactics), mentoring team members (when time allows it) and trying to see things a bit differently to help bring it to life (I can get carried away in how to make boring content compelling).

I think the understanding people also shows the more vulnerable side that you have to professionally hide. Tthe bit where you pretend it doesn’t matter what other people think when, as  person trying hard to understand where those around them are coming from, actually finds it quite upsetting!

Posted on February 4, 2009, in Masters research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow! This could be one particular of the most useful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Wonderful. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

Leave a Reply

